Show All Answers
Our Travel-Related Quarantine page provides details on when travel-related quarantine is required and how long to quarantine yourself.
Visit our Countries / States Included in Quarantine page to learn how the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) determines what countries or states are included in the list of areas that require travel-related quarantine.
Our Travel-Related Quarantine List page contains information as to how often the list is maintained and how often it is updated.
To learn what to do if you are quarantine for travel-related exposure, visit our Quarantine for Travel-Related Exposure page.
A travel-related quarantine now follows the Shortened Quarantine Guidance, starting the day after you arrive in or return to Kansas. See FAQ item 10 or learn more.
[GCSection revised with link
. Learn more.
See what steps to take if you develop symptoms consistent with COVID-19 on our If You Develop Symptoms in Quarantine page.
If you have been told by a public health professional or other authority that you are a close contact of a laboratory confirmed case of COVID-19, you must quarantine yourself for 7, 10, or 14 days after your last contact with the case depending on whether you have been tested for COVID-19 and preference of local health officer. (See Shortened Quarantine Guidance).
You are a "close contact" if any of the following situations happened while you spent time with a person with COVID-19, even if they didn’t have symptoms:
The chance of spreading the virus is greater the longer an infected person or persons are close to someone. It also matters if the infected person is coughing, sneezing, singing, shouting, or doing anything else that produces more respiratory droplets that contain virus or if there are exposures to more than one infected person. Under these higher risk situations, you may want to consider a close contact someone who has been within 6 feet of an infectious person or persons for 10 cumulative minutes or more in a 24-hour period.
The final decision on what constitutes close contact is made at the discretion of public health.
People who work in healthcare, public health, law enforcement and the meat packing industry may be allowed a modified quarantine, which allows them to continue working during quarantine period while wearing appropriate Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), as long as they remain symptom free. The decision to allow a modified quarantine is made by the local health officer.
Employees who were potentially exposed to COVID-19 due to exposure to a case should monitor for signs and symptoms of COVID-19, including checking for a fever of 100.4 (F) or higher at least twice per day and monitoring for lower respiratory symptoms including cough or shortness of breath. Use this symptoms log. If symptoms develop during the quarantine period, employees should stop work immediately and notify their employer and public health. Isolation of Lab-confirmed Cases of COVID-19
Lab-confirmed cases, including healthcare, public health, and law enforcement workers must be isolated in the same manner as any other lab-confirmed case. Most cases are considered no longer infectious and can be released from isolation using this criteria:
In some dire circumstances where there is a shortage of healthcare staff, asymptomatic healthcare staff who are positive may be allowed to continue working if they continue to be asymptomatic, are wearing appropriate PPE, are only working with COVID-19 positive patients and cannot expose other staff, and can ensure that no common spaces will be shared with non COVID-19 staff and patients. This exception must be allowed by the county’s local health officer. If you have questions, contact your local county health department, or KDHE at 877-427-7317.
KDHE continues to recommend a 14-day quarantine following exposure to COVID-19, as the incubation period for this disease is 14 days. CDC has released modified guidance allowing for shorter quarantine periods to increase better compliance with quarantine and increase people getting tested. Local Health Departments may choose to opt into this guidance. For information in your county, please contact your local health department.
KDHE recommends all exposed people should self-monitor for fourteen (14) days from exposure and contact healthcare provider if symptoms develop. Disease can still develop through day 14.
Learn what steps to take if you are in quarantine for exposure to a case on our What to Do if in Quarantine for Exposure page.
Visit Shortened Quarantine Guidance as the quarantine requirements vary.
Find information on what to do if you develop symptoms while in quarantine on our Developing Symptoms While in Quarantine page.
If your symptoms are not severe enough to be hospitalized, it may be appropriate for you to isolate at home. Learn more.
Find information on what to do if you are in isolation due to being a lab-confirmed case on our Isolation for Lab-Confirmed Cases page.
Lab-confirmed cases, including healthcare, public health, and law enforcement workers must be isolated in the same manner as any other lab-confirmed case. See Isolation for Lab-Confirmed Cases for determining if home isolation is recommended and find tips to assist.
Each county’s Local Health Officer, as well as State Health Officer Dr. Lee Norman, has the authority to issue isolation and quarantine orders. Learn more.